- Duration: 24 hours
How to Renew Your Illinois Insurance License
24 hours biennially for Producers
Compliance Renewal Date
Renewal date is the last day of the licensee’s birth month, biennially. You must be CE compliant at least ten (10) business days prior to your renewal date.
There is no extension to complete your CE and if you are late, a penalty fee of double the unpaid license fee wil be assessed.
You may also need to take specific courses or earn specific credit types to renew your license. These course completions will count toward the total hour requirement.
For All Licenses:
3 hrs – Producers must complete 3 hrs of Ethics as part of the total requirement. Ethics courses must be completed in either a classroom or webinar setting.
Effective 6/30/2012, producers who sell, solicit, or negotiate an annuity contract or represent an insurer in relation to an annuity product in Illinois must complete a one-time, four-hour course on Annuity Suitability. Annuity Suitability: 4-Hour Training Course satisfies this requirement. In addition, we offers a live CE class titled Annuity Suitability Training that also meets this requirement.
Long-Term Care Training
Resident producers are required to take a specific course titled Long Term Care and Partnership Initial 8-Hour Course (approved course number 70412). This course is an eight (8) hour credit course that can be applied to a producer’s continuing education requirement. Upon completion of this course you will be presented with a certificate of completion; retain the original certificate for your records as the Division will not have a permanent record of this required course. You will be required to provide companies a copy of the certificate as evidence of your completion of this course.
Further, the producer is required to complete no less than four (4) continuing education hours of Long Term Care for each renewal period. If the producer fails to complete subsequent ongoing training prior to license renewal, the producer will have 12 months from that license renewal date to complete the ongoing training without having to complete the 8 hour course again. Should Illinois become a Long Term Care Partnership state, these new requirements will satisfy education requirements for selling partnership policies. Non-Resident producers who satisfy the LTC Partnership Program requirement in their state shall be deemed to satisfy the training requirements in this State.
Resident producers must complete 3 hours of ethics every two year license term. The ethics CE requirement must be completed in the classroom. Public adjusters must complete 3 hours of ethics every two year license term. The ethics CE requirement must be completed in the classroom. Courses may not be repeated within a 2 year compliance period. Ethics credits may not be carried over to the next compliance period.
All Other State Requirements
All resident producers are required to complete 24 hours of CE; three (3) of the 24 hours must consist of classroom ethics.
Individuals licensed as public adjusters shall complete a minimum of 24 hours of CE, including 3 hours of classroom ethics instruction.
Property and casualty producers who sell flood insurance are reminded that they must comply with the one-time 3 hour training course on flood insurance and the NFIP. The hours may be applied to the overall CE requirement.
Non Resident Requirements
With the exception of LTC, nonresidents are exempt from continuing education in Illinois.
Courses may not be repeated within a 2 year compliance period.
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
Illinois resident licensees must complete their CE requirements by the license issuance date every two years.
A maximum of 12 hours may be carried over to the next compliance period. Ethics may not be carried over.
Report within 10 days of completion. Need Agent’s NPN to report.
State Reporting Fees
The IL Department of Insurance requires a course reporting fee of $.50 per credit hour (online, self-study, and classroom courses) As of 3/2/2017 this fee will increase to $1.00 per credit hour. This state reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.
Acceptable Training Methods
- Correspondence (Print)
- Company Seminars
- CBT/CD-ROM (Computer-Based Training)
- Online (Internet Delivery)
“Did You Find What You Need?” For Additional Renewal Information:
- National and/or State Licensing Authority (Click Here)
Disclaimer: Course requirements and pricing are subject to change. Students are advised to verify all necessary licensing and education requirements with the appropriate state department or licensing agency prior to purchase. All courses offered on this site are processed and administered through third-party companies. Cameron.Academy does not process payments nor issue refunds. Responsibilities of the user-selected third-party company (or companies) include publishing and updating content, payment processing and refunds, administering and/or hosting courses, monitoring, grading, reporting, issuing certification (paper and/or digital), and providing various products. Average salary statistics may vary and are published by ZipRecruiter via their website. Cameron.Academy does not assume responsibility for this third-party data and users should independently research its’ accuracy. All customer and/or technical support will be provided through the user-selected third-party. Therefore, Cameron.Academy does not assume any responsibility nor liability for issues that may arise as a result of purchasing these third-party courses and/or products.