- Duration: 24 hours
How to Renew Your Tennessee Insurance License
24 hours biennially for Producers and Adjusters
Compliance Renewal Date
Renewal date is the licensee’s date of birth, biennially. Licensees born in odd-numbered years renew in odd-numbered years, and licensees born in even-numbered years renew in even numbered years.
You may also need to take specific courses or earn specific credit types to renew your license. These course completions will count toward the total hour requirement.
For All Licenses:
3 hrs – Producers and Adjusters must complete 3 hrs of Ethics as part of the total requirement.
An insurance producer may not sell, solicit, or negotiate an annuity product unless the producer has completed an approved one-time 4-hour training course. This requirement is effective November 1, 2015. Insurance producers who hold a life insurance line of authority as of November 1, 2015 and who desire to sell annuities must complete the training requirement by May 1, 2016. Individuals who obtain a life insurance line of authority on or after November 1, 2015, may not engage in the sale of annuities until the one-time annuity training course has been completed.
Long-Term Care Training
Producers must complete an eight (8) hour, Department-approved Long Term Care course prior to selling Long Term Care products, including partnership policies. Following the initial eight (8) hour training, producers must complete four (4) hours of continuing education relating to selling Long Term Care every license period. The eight (8) hours of training will count towards the continuing education requirement.
All Other State Requirements
Kaplan Financial Education is authorized for operation as a post secondary educational institution by the Tennessee Higher Education Commission. In order to view detailed job placement and graduation information on the programs offered by Kaplan Financial Education, please visit www.state.tn.us/thec and click on the Authorized Institutions Data button.
All credits earned through Kaplan Financial Education are non-transferable.
To view Kaplan Financial Education Ordering Policies and Pre-Enrollment Disclosure information, Click Here: http://www.kfeducation.com/help/return
Licensees need complete 24 hours of continuing education every 2 years, including 3 hours of Ethics training.
Any resident insurance producer who is authorized to sell property insurance or who is authorized to sell both property and casualty insurance, shall take a one-time three (3) hour flood course consisting of the minimum training requirements of section 207 of the Flood Insurance Federal Reform Act of 2004, 42 U.S.C. 4011. and basic flood education as outlined at 70 Fed. Reg. 52117, or such later requirements as are published by the Federal Emergency Management Agency. This course will count towards the individually required twenty-four (24) hours of continuing education for one biennium and must be completed before the first license renewal following January 1, 2012. Those individuals who can show proof of having completed such a course after January 1, 2008 may be exempt from this requirement.
Credits must be recorded by the course provider by the license expiration date. Course provider has 30 days to bank credits from the date all required information is received from the student. Please allow for this 30-day processing time when planning your CE course completion.
Non Resident Requirements
Non-residents who comply with CE requirements of the resident state are exempt from Tennessee CE requirements.
Courses in Tennessee may be repeated after two years from the completion date of the original course (not once every compliance period).
Online certification exams are closed book. Course materials are not available while the exam is in progress. The final exam must be passed with a score of 70% or higher to receive CE credit. If the exam is not passed on the first attempt, students have an unlimited number of retakes.
Tennessee resident licensees must complete their CE requirements every two years by the last day of the licensee’s birth month.
Tennessee will allow a maximum of 12 CE hours to be carried over to the next renewal/reporting period. Carryover does not apply to ethics courses. Excess ethics credits carryover as general credits.
Report within 30 days of completion. Need Agent’s SSN or license number to report.
State Reporting Fees
The Tennessee Department of Commerce and Insurance requires a course reporting fee of $1.00 per credit hour (online, self-study, and classroom courses). This state reporting fee will be automatically charged to you (on the last credit card used in your account) each time you complete an online, self-study, or classroom course.
Instructors can earn credit for a course they teach. The amount of credit awarded shall not exceed two (2) times the number of approved credit hours.
The CE requirements do not apply to any individual who holds a license as a limited insurance representative under T.C.A. 56-6-138.
Acceptable Training Methods
- Correspondence (Print)
- Company Seminars
- CBT/CD-ROM (Computer-Based Training)
- Online (Internet Delivery)
“Did You Find What You Need?” For Additional Renewal Information:
- National and/or State Licensing Authority (Click Here)
Disclaimer: Course requirements and pricing are subject to change. Students are advised to verify all necessary licensing and education requirements with the appropriate state department or licensing agency prior to purchase. All courses offered on this site are processed and administered through third-party companies. Cameron.Academy does not process payments nor issue refunds. Responsibilities of the user-selected third-party company (or companies) include publishing and updating content, payment processing and refunds, administering and/or hosting courses, monitoring, grading, reporting, issuing certification (paper and/or digital), and providing various products. Average salary statistics may vary and are published by ZipRecruiter via their website. Cameron.Academy does not assume responsibility for this third-party data and users should independently research its’ accuracy. All customer and/or technical support will be provided through the user-selected third-party. Therefore, Cameron.Academy does not assume any responsibility nor liability for issues that may arise as a result of purchasing these third-party courses and/or products.